Key takeaways

  • OpenAI published the story on October 16, 2026. It says two engineers shipped Stack Overflow for Agents in a few weeks using Codex.
  • The headline reports that signups tripled. OpenAI’s feed summary separately says the ChatGPT plugin helped drive up to 10× growth in agent creation; these are different metrics and should not be combined.
  • Stack Overflow for Agents is live with a public feed, multiple agent-oriented content types, signup and login, a plugin call to action and an authenticated API boundary.
  • OpenAI’s accessible summary does not expose the baseline, denominator, date range, cohort, acquisition mix, retention, statistical uncertainty or counterfactual. The growth numbers are vendor-reported customer metrics, not an independent causal study.
  • Teams evaluating plugin distribution should instrument discovery-to-activation-to-retention themselves and keep product utility separate from top-of-funnel growth.
01

OpenAI published two distinct growth claims on October 16

OpenAI published “Stack Overflow for Agents triples signups with ChatGPT plugin” on October 16, 2026. Its first-party RSS summary says two engineers shipped the product in a few weeks with Codex and that the ChatGPT plugin helped drive up to 10× growth in agent creation. The story is categorized as Startup, not a model or API launch.

The wording matters. “Tripled signups” describes one conversion event; “up to 10× growth in agent creation” describes another and includes a best-case qualifier. Neither statement establishes active use, retained users, successful agent tasks or revenue. AccessAllGPT found no accessible denominator or time series in the reviewed surfaces.

02

The product is live, not merely announced

The Stack Overflow for Agents site resolved to a live public feed during review. It exposed signup and login controls, search, a plugin call to action and content labeled as playbooks, blueprints and today-I-learned posts. The feed displayed 10,115 posts at retrieval time and included current agent-workflow examples.

That establishes public product availability and a populated interface. It does not establish how many posts are original, human-authored, agent-authored, moderated, viewed or useful. The displayed count is mutable and should not be treated as an adoption metric.

03

An authenticated API is part of the agent surface

The product’s HTML points agents toward /skill.md and a REST API. An unauthenticated request to /api/docs returned HTTP 401, named the missing SOFA API key, and documented an Authorization: Bearer <SOFA_API_KEY> header. This is direct evidence of an authenticated agent interface, not proof of what every authenticated endpoint permits.

AccessAllGPT did not register, obtain credentials or call authenticated endpoints. Teams should inspect the current skill and API documentation after authentication, then inventory read, search, contribution and account permissions before placing the service inside an autonomous workflow.

04

Codex-assisted shipping is a customer report, not a productivity benchmark

OpenAI says two engineers shipped the product in a few weeks with Codex. That is potentially useful evidence that a small team used an AI coding agent on a real product, but it is not a controlled comparison against the same team without Codex.

The accessible evidence does not disclose project start and end dates, inherited systems, code volume, test coverage, incidents, review time, model identifiers, Codex settings or how work was divided between engineers and the agent. Buyers should not translate “a few weeks” into a universal staffing or delivery estimate.

05

The plugin claim is attribution evidence, not causal proof

OpenAI’s summary says the ChatGPT plugin “helped drive” growth. That phrasing is more limited than saying the plugin caused all observed growth. A launch can coincide with homepage promotion, press coverage, improved onboarding, paid acquisition, invitations, seasonality or product changes.

A defensible causal analysis would state the exposure event, observation window, eligible population, baseline, acquisition channels, bot and duplicate-account treatment, and whether a holdout or phased rollout existed. None of those details were available in the surfaces AccessAllGPT could inspect.

06

Pricing, permissions and data handling remain open questions

The reviewed OpenAI feed item does not state a plugin price, subscription prerequisite, regional matrix, quota or service-level commitment. The public Stack Overflow for Agents surface exposes signup and an authenticated API boundary, but AccessAllGPT did not verify the current plugin installation flow because the ChatGPT listing was blocked by a Cloudflare challenge.

Before adoption, record which ChatGPT plans and regions can install it, what identity is shared, which actions require confirmation, what content leaves ChatGPT, what Stack Overflow stores, retention and deletion controls, contribution ownership, rate limits and revocation behavior. Treat missing answers as procurement blockers when the workflow handles proprietary code or internal incident data.

07

Measure activation and retained utility separately

A useful plugin funnel starts with eligible ChatGPT users, listing impressions and installs, then records authenticated connections, first agent created, first successful retrieval or contribution, seven- and thirty-day return, failure rate, moderation outcomes and account deletion. Report absolute counts beside conversion rates so a small denominator cannot masquerade as scale.

For utility, sample representative questions and agent tasks. Score source relevance, freshness, citation fidelity, duplicate content, unsafe instructions, time to a usable answer and the rate at which a human must correct or discard the result. Growth can justify a trial; retained task success should decide continuation.

08

What agent teams should do next

Trial the plugin with a non-sensitive cohort if the current listing, pricing, regional availability and data terms fit. Instrument the complete funnel and compare it with direct product discovery or existing documentation search. Constrain write or contribution authority until identity, moderation, provenance and rollback are tested.

Wait if authenticated documentation, retention terms or required ChatGPT access cannot be verified. Reject deployment for proprietary workflows if prompts, retrieved content or contributions cross an unacceptable data boundary. Do not use the reported 3× or up-to-10× figures as your forecast without the missing denominator and attribution design.

09

Copy-ready agent plugin evaluation gate

Complete this for one plugin version, ChatGPT plan, account type and user cohort. Preserve evidence before the listing, permissions or product counters change.

Entries stay in this browser tab and are not submitted to AccessAllGPT. Blank responses are copied as [Unresolved].

Listing URL, plugin version, eligible plans, regions, account prerequisites, price, quotas and support route.

User and agent identity, API key owner, read and write scopes, confirmation points, revocation and audit trail.

Prompts, retrieved posts, proprietary context, contributions, subprocessors, retention, training use, deletion and residency.

Eligible users, impressions, installs, authenticated connections, agents created, first success and absolute denominators.

Seven- and thirty-day return, successful tasks, accepted outputs, corrections, failures, latency and human review time.

Relevance, freshness, provenance, duplicates, unsafe instructions, moderation, appeals and removal behavior.

Direct site search, internal documentation, incumbent retrieval and no-plugin baseline under the same task set.

Adopt, constrain, wait or reject; name the owner, evidence expiry, rollback trigger and next review date.

Primary sources

  1. Stack Overflow for Agents triples signups with ChatGPT pluginOpenAI · Reviewed: Canonical title, publication date, category and syndication summary; Cloudflare access condition on the full article · Retrieved · Supports: OpenAI published the customer story on October 16, 2026. Its title says signups tripled; its summary says two engineers shipped Stack Overflow for Agents in a few weeks with Codex and that the ChatGPT plugin helped drive up to tenfold growth in agent creation. The full article returned a Cloudflare challenge during review, so AccessAllGPT does not rely on inaccessible body details.
  2. OpenAI News RSS feedOpenAI · Reviewed: Feed build timestamp; Stack Overflow for Agents item title, canonical URL, category, description and publication timestamp · Retrieved · Supports: The first-party feed independently exposes the October 16 item as a Startup story and supplies the same title and summary. It establishes OpenAI’s published wording and date, not the measurement design, denominator, attribution window or independent validation of the reported growth.
  3. Stack Overflow for AgentsStack Overflow · Reviewed: Public home feed; content types; signup and login surfaces; plugin call to action; displayed post count and current feed examples · Retrieved · Supports: The live product exposes a public feed for agent-oriented content, including playbooks, blueprints and today-I-learned posts, plus signup, login and a Get the plugin call to action. At review time the feed displayed 10,115 posts; that mutable count is a point-in-time interface observation, not a measure of active users or content quality.
  4. Stack Overflow for Agents API authentication responseStack Overflow · Reviewed: Unauthenticated API response; authentication requirement; bearer header format; documentation location and missing-key remediation · Retrieved · Supports: An unauthenticated request returned HTTP 401 and documented bearer-key authentication through the Authorization header, with operating guidance at /skill.md. This confirms an agent-facing API boundary, but AccessAllGPT did not create an account, obtain a key, inspect authenticated documentation or exercise read or write operations.

Limitations

AccessAllGPT performed a public-source product and claim review, not a plugin evaluation or growth audit. The canonical OpenAI article, ChatGPT plugin listing and later Stack Overflow for Agents documentation requests were blocked by Cloudflare or rate limiting during review; the first-party OpenAI RSS item remained accessible. We did not install the plugin; create a Stack Overflow for Agents account or agent; obtain a SOFA API key; call authenticated endpoints; submit, retrieve or moderate content; inspect source code; verify pricing, plans, regions, permissions, data handling, retention or deletion; review analytics; establish the signup or agent-creation denominators; reproduce the 3× or up-to-10× changes; isolate causality; measure retention, task success, safety or business outcomes; or audit the two-engineer and few-weeks account. The displayed 10,115-post count is a mutable October 18 interface observation.

Disclosures

AccessAllGPT received no ChatGPT plugin access, Stack Overflow for Agents account, API key, credits, data, analytics, source code, private briefing, review, payment or compensation for this article. OpenAI and Stack Overflow did not sponsor, review or endorse it. AccessAllGPT did not test, score or rank the plugin or product. AccessAllGPT Research is operated by NeuralArc, is independent, and is not affiliated with OpenAI, ChatGPT or Stack Overflow. Publication-wide relationships are listed on the disclosures page.

Further AccessAllGPT guidance

  1. Third Moment Says It Runs 10,000 OpenAI Agents for Up to 48 Hours
  2. AWS Publishes an AgentCore RAG System
  3. Control Human Approval Boundaries
  4. Design an Agent Benchmark That Predicts Production
  5. Keep LLM Evaluations Portable
  6. Agents vs Workflows
  7. AccessAllGPT Research methodology
  8. Evidence standards
  9. Publication disclosures

Continue the research

Get evidence-led updates for teams making production AI decisions.